IPL Full Form: IPL stands for Indian Premier League, it is a twenty-20 cricket tournament played by the cricket players from all over the world. BCCI is responsible for arranging and managing the IPL.

IPL was introduced by BCCI in the year 2008, since then IPL is played in India every year. There are players from different countries made to play for one team, depending on the performance the teams will qualify for semi-finals and then the Final tournament.

The teams of IPL are made by doing the auctioning of the cricket players. These are the present teams in IPL:

  1. Chennai Super Kings
  2. Delhi Capitals
  3. Punjab Kings
  4. Kolkata Knight Riders
  5. Mumbai Indians
  6. Rajasthan Royals
  7. Royal Challengers Bangalore
  8. Sunrisers Hyderabad
  9. Ahmedabad Lions
  10.  Lucknow Nawabs

The first IPL was won by the Rajasthan Royals in the year 2008.

About: IPL Full Form:

The Indian Premier League is played by both Indian cricketers and overseas cricket players. The teams of IPL represent different states of India. Each team is given a chance to play fourteen matches before they qualify for the semi-finals

The main purpose of designing the IPL was to bring out the change in the history of cricket patterns. The first announcement of IPL was made by the BCCI on 13th September 2007.

IPL was introduced in a high profile ceremony in April, in New Delhi. It is said that vice president Lalit Modi is the mastermind behind introducing IPL.

They only designed the whole format of the tournament along with trophies and other prizes. The IPL is believed to be run by 7 man governing councils including former Indian players and officers of BCCI.

What are the winning teams of IPL?

These are winning teams of IPL till 2020 –

2008    Rajasthan Royals

2009    Deccan Chargers

2010    Chennai Super Kings

2011    Chennai Super Kings

2012    Kolkata Knight Riders

2013    Mumbai Indians

2014    Kolkata Knight Riders

2015    Mumbai Indians

2016    Sunrisers Hyderabad

2017    Mumbai Indians

2018    Chennai Super Kings

2019    Mumbai Indians

2020    Mumbai Indians

Major Rules of the IPL:

Like any other sport, even IPL has some set of rules that every player and the member must follow:

  • Every IPL team can have a maximum of 4 overseas players in a team of eleven squads. 
  • IPL team players don’t have any local quota. 
  • Every IPL team must have at least 16 players. 
  • There is no limit of time for the IPL teams as the game uses TV timeouts for their innings. 
  • A-list players and under 19 players are welcomed to play the IPL and there is no restriction for other players too. 

Prize Money: 

After playing a series of matches, four teams will be qualified for the semi-finals. In the end, only one team will win the IPL claiming the trophy and set prize money. 

The prize money received will be equally distributed among all the players of the team. The winning team will get 200 million INR for winning the IPL. The first and second runner up teams will get around 125 million and 80 million INR respectively. 

Complete List of All IPL Team Owners 2022

IPL TeamOwners NameOwners BusinessBest IPL Season 
Chennai Super KingsN SrinivasanChennai Super Kings Cricket LimitedChampions (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021)
Delhi CapitalsParth JindalGMR Group and JSW GroupFinalists (2020) 
Punjab KingsPreity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan PaulBollywood actress,  Bombay Burmah Trading Company LimitedFinalists (2014) 
Mumbai IndiansMukesh AmbaniReliance IndustriesChampions (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020) 
Kolkata Knight RidersShah Rukh Khan and Juhi ChawlaRed Chillies Entertainment and Mehta GroupChampions (2012 and 2014) 
Sunrisers HyderabadKalanithi MaranSun TV NetworkChampions (2016) 
Rajasthan RoyalsManoj BadaleBritish Asian TrustChampions (2008) 
Royal Challengers BangaloreAAnand KripaluUnited SpiritsFinalists (2016) 
Gujarat TitansSteve Koltes, Donald Mackenzie, Rolly van RappardSiddharth Patel of CVC Capital Partners 
Lucknow Super GiantsDr Sanjiv GoenkaRP Sanjiv Goenka Group 

IPL Full Form: IPL has the majority of fan following not just in India but all around the world. People wait for the yearly tournament and travel to enjoy the sport. People of all age groups watch IPL matches and enjoy them thoroughly.


Questions 1. Which team has won most of the IPL trophies?

Answer: IPL consists of a total of 10 teams from all across the country; players from the Indian team, as well as foreign teams, are selected and made to pay for one team. Chennai Super Kings is the IPL team with the most winning badges.

Questions 2. How many teams are there in IPL?

Answer: There are a total of 10 IPL teams playing against each other every year to win the tournament. Players from overseas are auctioned for the IPL teams.

Questions 3. Who is the owner of IPL?

Answer: IPL is organised by the BCCI and has a different owner for all the 10 teams.

You Can Read Also: