List of Cricket World Cup champions compiled here.ICC England initially hosted the Cricket World Cup in 1975. Each team was given 60 overs to bat in a one-day series. It was originally performed outside of the United Kingdom in India and Pakistan in 1987. It was also decreased to 50 overs each side in 1987.

Cricket World Cup Winners List: Overview

Australia was the first team in the history of the World Cup to win three consecutive titles. There have been 12 World Cup events thus far in the competition. Australia is still the most decorated nation in World Cup history, five years after its last victory. All other World Cup winners have come from India and West Indies, who have won the tournament twice each. Indians won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011, while the West Indies won in 1975 and 1979. The 2019 World Cup was a resounding success for the English national team. Following is a list of the One Day Cricket World Cup winners:

Cricket World Cup Winners List

Men’s one-day international cricket champions from 1975 through 2021 are shown below, along with the winners, runners-up, and host nation, along with the total scores and the final result (ODI).

Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI)
1975EnglandWest Indies291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustralia253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri Lanka245–3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia281–4Sri Lanka215–8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndia277–4Sri Lanka274–6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustralia186–3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEngland241New Zealand241–8Match tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count

Cricket World Cup Winners: Results by Country

When it comes to the ICC One-Day International World Cup, Australia is the most successful side, winning it five times and finishing runner-up twice. After Australia, India, and the West Indies won two World Cup titles each, the United States won the tournament for the first time. In 2019, England and Wales hosted the ICC ODI Men’s World Cup, held in England and Wales and won by England for the first time. List of countries that won the Cricket World Cup in One-Day Internationals.

TeamFinal AppearancesWinnersRunnersYears WonYears Runners
Australia7521987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 20151975, 1996
England41320191979, 1987, 1992
India3211983, 20112003
New Zealand1012015
Sri Lanka31219962007, 2011
West Indies3211975, 19791983


Q. Up to this point, how many nations have taken part in the ODI Cricket World Cups?

Ans- Twenty teams have competed in the ODI Cricket World Cups organized so far.

Q. Since 1975, how many countries have won the Cricket World Cup?

Ans- Since 1975, just six countries have claimed the title of Cricket World Cup champions.

Q. In terms of World Cup triumphs, how many times has India won?

Ans- The West Indies side won the T20 World Cup.

Q. In terms of cricket, which country has the most World Cup victories?

Ans-As of this writing, Australia holds the record for most World Cup Cricket victories with five.

Q. How many World Cups has India won?

Ans- The Indian cricket team has triumphed at World Cup tournaments: Kapil dev’s in 1983 and MS Dhoni’s in 2011.

You Can Read Also:

Indian States and Capitals
National Parks in India
List of Waterfalls in India
List of National Peaks in India
Dams In India