Indian States and Capitals

Indian States and Capitals: India is the seventh-largest country globally and the second-largest in terms of population. Southern Asia is its home. It is referred to as the Republic of India in a legal capacity. As such, it operates under a parliamentary system of rule. Organizing a large country from a single location becomes seriously tough. As a result, the Indian Constitution grants the central government the authority to compel states to conform to its standards. Our country, India, is split into 28 states and eight union territories. An Indian state and capitals list is presented in this article.

Download List of Indian States & Capitals (Excel Sheet)Click Here

The Indian States and Their Capitals

It is usual for people to be uninformed of the total number of States and Union Territories of India and their capitals. You’ll see the most recent information about India’s capital cities and states here. Twenty-eight states and eight union territories make up India’s current total of 28 states and eight regions. There is an administrative, legislative, and judicial capital in each state in India. The three functions are all carried out in the same capital city, according to some. Every state has a Chief Minister who is in charge. The following is a list of Indian states, union territories, and capital cities.

Regions of India with Their Capital City

There are 28 states in India, plus eight federal territories. The following is a list of India’s 28 states, organized alphabetically by state capital.

The Indian States and their Capitals
State NameCapital
Andhra PradeshAmaravati
Arunachal PradeshItanagar
Himachal PradeshShimla
Madhya PradeshBhopal
Tamil NaduChennai
Uttar PradeshLucknow
UttarakhandDehradun (Winter)
Gairsain (Summer)
West BengalKolkata

Union Territories and Capitals of the Indian Republic

With 8 Union Territories and 28 States, India presently has 58. The former state of Jammu and Kashmir has been split into two separate Union Territories (UTs): J&K and Ladakh, respectively. The Parliament passed a restructuring act on August 5-6, 2020, which created the new union territories. 8 Union Territories currently exist in India.

Union Territories NameCapital
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman
DelhiNew Delhi
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)

Information on the State and Capital Cities

List of Indian States and Union Territories with their capitals after we learn how to distinguish between states and territories. Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry), and Jammu and Kashmir are three of India’s eight union regions that have their legislatures. The capital of each state and territory of the United States is located in its respective jurisdiction.

StateUnion Territories
 The state has its own administrative units with their own elected government.Union Territories are constituent units which are controlled and administered by the Central Government.
Executive Head is the GovernorExecutive Head is the President
The relationship with the Centre is Federal.Unitary with the Centre. i.e. all the powers rests in the hands of Union.
Administered by the Chief Minister and elected by the people.Administered by the Administrator which is appointed by the President. ( except Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu & Kashmir)
Chief Minister is the real head.Lieutenant is the real head.

All of India’s States and Capitals

Consider the latest UT news before moving on to Union Territories and their capitals.

India now has eight union territories as of January 26, 2020. The Union Territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu have been combined into one.

The central government announced article 370’s special status for Jammu and Kashmir, and it was split into two Union Territories (UTs) on August 5.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu have merged, bringing the total number of UTs in India to eight.

Indian States and Capitals in 2022

We must educate ourselves on the many Indian states and their capital cities. Many competitive tests question state and capital names frequently.

FAQS: Indian States and Capitals

Q1: How many states do you think India has?

Answer: Twenty-eight states and eight union territories make up the Indian Union.

Q2: There are how many union territories in India?

Answer: There are now eight union territories in India.

Q3. In January 2020, which United States territory was merged?

Answer: Daman and Diu and Nagar Haveli are combined.

Q4: To create a new union territory, which state was split in half?

Answer: It has been divided into Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh Union Territories.

Q5. What is the Capital of India?

Answer: India’s capital, Delhi, is located in New Delhi.