Online IAS coaching

As per the latest official notification by UPSC (EXAMINATION NOTICE NO. 05/2020-CSP DATE: 12/02/2020), Elite IAS Academy presents you the latest information about IAS Exam Eligibility. Every UPSC exam aspirant must carefully go through the eligibility criteria. We have tried to put all the information about IAS Exam Eligibility in a systematic manner.  The eligibility conditions fall under the following categories. It helps you to quickly grasp the details of IAS exam eligibility.

IAS Exam Eligibility

IAS Exam Eligibility 

Jump to:

  1. Nationality of IAS Candidate
  2. Age Limit for IAS
  3. Educational Qualification for IAS
  4. Number of Attempts for IAS
  5. Other IAS Exam Eligibility Criteria

#1 – IAS Exam Eligibility Criteria

Nationality of IAS Candidate

Every candidate who is planning to attend IAS and IPS exam must be Indian. In the case of other civil services, the candidate must be either of the following:

  1. Citizen of India
  2. Subject of Nepal
  3. Subject of Bhutan
  4. The Tibetian refugee who entered India before January 1, 1962, and intended to permanently
  5. A person originated from India who moved from Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Burma, East African countries of the Kenya, Uganda, United Republic of the Tanzania, Malawi, Zambia, Zaire, Vietnam, and Ethiopia and intends to permanently settle.

However, the candidates belonging to 2,3, and 4 cannot take up the IFS exam.

#2 – IAS Exam Eligibility Criteria

Age Limit for IAS Exam

The age of an IAS candidate must be within 21 years to 32 years as on 1st August 2020 (i.e., he must have been born not earlier than 2nd August, 1988 and not later than 1st August, 1999.). However, the upper age limit is relaxable if satisfied with the following conditions:

  • If a candidate is SC or ST, the
    upper age limit is relaxable up to five years.
  • If a candidate belongs to OBC
    category, the upper age limit is relaxable up to three years.
  • If the candidate is defence
    services personnel, the upper age limit is relaxable up to three years.
  • If the candidate is ex-serviceman
    holding at least five years experience, the upper age limit is relaxable up to
    five years.
  • If the candidate is ECO or SSCO
    holding five years initial period experience, the upper age limit is relaxable
    up to five years. But, Ministery of Defence must provide the certificate
    stating that they can apply for civil services.
  • If the candidate is physically
    disabled, the upper age limit is relaxable up to ten years.

#3 – IAS Exam Eligibility Criteria

Educational Qualification for IAS Exam

Educational Qualification - IAS Exam Eligibility
  • The candidate must have a degree
    from the university. As per the IAS Exam eligibility, the universities should
    be incorporated by the Act of Central or State legislature in India. It can
    also be other educational institutions incorporated to be deemed as University
    or by the Act of Parliament.
  • The candidate who is currently
    appearing or intend to appear for qualifying exams can also attend the IAS
    exam. However, a candidate must provide the proof of certification of required
    qualification before mains. Failing which, the candidate will not be allowed to
    take up the mains exam. He or she is exempted from IAS exam eligibility.
  • Exceptionally, the candidate can
    submit the certifications from other institutions justified by the UPSC
  • Candidates might have the
    technical and professional qualification recognized by the Government. In turn,
    it should be equivalent to the standard technical and professional degree. Now,
    the candidate is said to have IAS exam eligibility.
  • The candidates who clear the MBBS degree or any other medical degree without completing the internship can attend the IAS exam.  In addition, he or she must provide the pass certificate from the concerned university. During the interview stage, the candidate should provide the final degree certificate.

#4– IAS Exam Eligibility Criteria

Number of Attempts for IAS Exam

  • The candidate from the general category can attempt the IAS exam up to 6 times until 32 years. Nevertheless, consider the upper age limit as an important IAS exam eligibility.
  • The candidate from the other
    backward category can attempt the IAS exam up to 9 times until 35 years.
  • The candidate from the scheduled
    caste and scheduled tribe can attempt the IAS exam up to unlimited times until
    37 years.
  • The physically disabled candidates
    from the general category can attempt the IAS exam up to 9 times until 42
    years. In fact, it is the special IAS exam eligibility criteria declared by

Whenever you attend the UPSC exam, the commission records your number of attempts. If you fill up the application form and fail to attend the exam, the attempt made is not counted. Sometimes, the candidate attends only one paper.

Consequently, the UPSC considers it to be one attempt. Due to any disqualification or cancellation, the candidate might be held back. If the candidate appears in the exam hall, it will count as one attempt.

Other IAS Exam Eligibility Criteria 2020

The physical standards of UPSC demand every candidate to be physically fit. Apart from the age limits eligibility criteria mentioned above, the candidates might enjoy the cumulative age benefits. In other words, the exceptional candidates get the advantage of adding age limits.  Assume a candidate is an ex-serviceman as well as SC. They can add the age limits of both categories.

5 Years + 7 Years = 12 Years.

The person will
have a relaxable upper age limit of 42 years.

Elite IAS recommends every IAS aspirant to clearly learn about IAS Exam eligibility criteria. We have given you the updated details. It is always better to get a reference from the latest UPSC notifications.   Make sure you intend to accomplish all the IAS exam Eligibility conditions. Your admission to different stages of UPSC exam directly depends on the fulfillment of IAS exam eligibility.

Once the candidate qualifies the IAS mains and interview, UPSC board look into the original documents. In the end, they verify the candidate’s IAS Exam eligibility. As a whole, the candidate can attend the exam without submitting a few certifications. But, the board provides the appointment only after the submission of certifications.

Useful Resource to Check

For Detail Information Please Contact to Elite IAS – Best IAS Coaching in Delhi for UPSC Exam preparation.

Classroom Coaching: 7065202020
Online IAS Coaching: 8899999931

Leave a Reply