T20 World Cup: From 2007 until 2021, we’ll be looking at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup winners list. The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 kicked off on October 17, 2021, at the Oman Cricket Academy Ground and concluded on November 14, 2021, in Dubai, with the final featuring the tournament’s top two teams — Australia and New Zealand. Australia defeated New Zealand to win the last match of the T20 World Cup 2021. Follow the chart below for a full list of T20 World Cup winners from 2007 to 2021, including the current champion.

Winners of the T20 World Cups from 2007 to 2021

The International Cricket Council (ICC) organizes the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup, an international competition (ICC). Men’s ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2021 was held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman from October 17 to November 14, 2021, and it was the second time South Africa hosted the event. This article will provide you with a chart of every T20 World Cup winner from 2007 through 2021. The following is a list of the teams who have won the T20 World Cup in each year since 2007:

T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2021
2012West Indies
2014Sri Lanka
2016West Indies

T20 World Cup champions list is a great way to brush up on your sports trivia. All the information you require to know about the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup champions and runners-up is provided below:

YearWinnersRunners UpPlayer of the SeriesTop Run ScorerHighest Wicket TakerVenue
2021AustraliaNew ZealandBabar AzamWanindu HasarangaOman & UAE
2016West IndiesEnglandVirat KohliTamim IqbalMohammad NabiIndia
2014Sri LankaIndiaVirat KohliVirat KohliAhsan Malik and Imran TahirBangladesh
2012West IndiesSri LankaShane WatsonShane WatsonAjantha MendisSri Lanka
2010EnglandAustraliaKevin PietersenMahela JayawardeneDirk NannesWest Indies
2009PakistanSri LankaTillakaratne DilshanTillakaratne DilshanUmar GulEngland
2007IndiaPakistanShahid AfridiMatthew HaydenUmar GulSouth Africa

T20 World Cup Winners

India was victorious from the inaugural T20 World Cup. Every two years, the ICC T20 World Cup is held. But there hasn’t been a single T20 Cricket World Cup in the recent five years because of the COVID-19 outbreak and other ICC planning revisions. In 2016, the T20 World Cup was held. The ICC will organize two T20 World Cups in the next two years (2021 and 2022).

Country-by-Country List of T20 World Cup Winners

West Indies is currently the best T20 cricket squad in the World Cup. Only the West Indies has won the ICC T20 World Cup twice (in 2012 and 2016), with India, Pakistan, England, and Sri Lanka each taking home a trophy from the competition. Here is the chart of countries that have won the T20 World Cup from 2007 through 2021.

Country Name No. of times WinnerYear
West Indies22012, 2016
Pakistan 12009
Sri Lanka12014
Australia 12021

The Winners’ List of the T20 World Cup

You can see the list of T20 world cup champions from 2007 to 2021 here.

Who Will Win the T20 World Cup in 2021?

On October 17, 2021, the T20 World Cup 2021 began in the United Arab Emirates and Oman. On November 14, 2021, Australia and New Zealand faced off in the final of the T20 World Cup 2021. The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 was won by Australia by an innings and eight wickets over New Zealand. The Australian cricket team has won the T20 World Cup for the first time. T20 World Cup 2021 finalist Mitchell Marsh of Australia was named the game’s Player of the match. The main event (Super 12) at this World Cup features 12 teams split into two groups.

West Indies won the T20 World Cup in 2016.

The West Indies cricket team overcame England in the final of the T20 World Cup 2016 to win the tournament. This is the first time this side has ever won the T20 World Cup in consecutive years for the West Indies. West Indies lost only one match against Afghanistan. In 2012, West Indies won the T20 World Cup for the first time. Both Virat Kohli and Tamim Iqbal were named Player of the Series in this World Cup.

T20 World Cup in 2016 was won by Sri Lanka

Defeating India in the 2014 T20 World Cup final, Sri Lanka emerged as the new T20 World Cup victor. Sri Lanka emerged victorious in the final match by a margin of six wickets. India made it to the World Cup championship game for the second time. This year’s ICC T20 World Cup saw India’s Virat Kohli crowned Player of the Series and Run Scorer of the Tournament.

The T20 World Cup in 2012 was won by the West Indies.

The West Indies defeated Sri Lanka by 36 runs in the 2012 T20 World Cup final, giving them their first title in the format. Even though they lost to Australia in their opening encounter of the ICC T20 World Cup 2012, the West Indies emerged victorious. Both Shane Watson of Australia and Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka were named Player of the Series and leading run-scorers in this World Cup.

England won the 2010 T20 World Cup

2010. England won the T20 World Cup. Thus, England became the first team from Asia to win the 2010 T20 World Cup. A 7-wicket victory against Australia in the final gave England the Ashes. After losing their first game against the West Indies, the English team went on to win all of their remaining matches and take home the championship. During the T20 World Cup 2010, the winning team Kevin Pietersen was named the series’ most valuable Player.

Pakistan is the 2009 T20 World Cup champions

Pakistan won their first 120 World Cup in 2009, two years after finishing runners-up in the first T20 World Cup. In the final, Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by an innings and eight wickets to win the championship in England’s backyard. Pakistan’s first encounter against England and a Super eight match versus Sri Lanka were lost to the hosts. Despite this, they were able to take home the trophy. Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan was the tournament’s Player of the Series and leading run-scorer.

India won the 2007 Twenty20 World Cup

Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, India became the first country to win the T20 World Cup. The 2007 T20 World Cup was won by India, who defeated Pakistan in the final. In the competition, India only lost to New Zealand once – in the Super 8s. Shahid Afridi, a Pakistani player, earned the tournament’s MVP.

FAQs: T20 World Cup

In the inaugural T20 World Cup, who emerged victoriously?

T20 World Cup champion India beat arch-rivals Pakistan for the first time.

Is there anyone who won the T20 World Cup this year?

The West Indies have crowned champions in the most recent ICC T20 World Cup.

When did Pakistan triumph over the rest of the world in the shortest format of cricket?

Only in 2009, against Sri Lanka, did Pakistan win the T20 World Cup.

For how many T20 World Cups has India triumphed?

In the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, India did not triumph over all other nations. It was a close call in 2014, but they fell to Sri Lanka in the finals and finished as runners-up.

Which country has the most T20 World Cup titles under its belt?

The most World Cups in Twenty20 has been won by the West Indies (2 World Cups).

You Can Read Also:

Sports Cups and Trophies
Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI)