List of Presidents of India: It is stated in Article 52 of the Indian Constitution that the President of India shall exist. The Prime Minister advises the President, who is nominally in charge of the government (Council of Ministers). The President of India is responsible for all executive actions. President India’s signature is on every agreement struck with a foreign country. Dr. Rajandra Prasad was India’s first president, and Shri Ram Nath Kovind is the country’s current leader. On July 25th, 2017, he was elected President of the United States. A look at who has been elected as President thus far is in order.

List of Indian presidents: A few things to keep in mind

List of Presidents of India: The leader of the government’s parliamentary system is him. In addition, he is the head of India’s armed forces. He serves as a country representative, but he does not wield power over it. The council of ministers holds the real power in the country.

The electoral college votes to elect the President.

  • Members of Parliament elected to serve in both chambers.
  • State legislators who their peers duly choose
  • Elected members of the Delhi and Puducherry legislative houses (added by 70th amendment Act, 1992).

Elected for five years but is available for re-election at any time and can hold office indefinitely.

If the President is determined to breach the constitution, they may be removed from office. You can impeach him in either house of parliament, if necessary.

If the Vice President’s position becomes vacant owing to the President’s death, resignation, impeachment, or any other reason, the Chief Justice of India assumes the duties of President of the Republic of India instead.

The following is a list of Indian presidents

Rajendra Prasad was the first president of India, and Ram Nath Kovind is the current President of India. The following table lists India’s presidents in order of service. Make a list of all the presidents of India that you can find.

NameStarting dateClosing dateProfiles
1. Dr. Rajendra PrasadJanuary 26th, 1950May 13th, 1962He was the first President of republic India.
2. Dr Sarvepalli RadhakrishnanMay 13th, 1962May 13th, 1967He was the 2nd President of India.
3. Dr Zakir HussainMay 13th, 1967May 3rd, 1969He was the 3rd President of India.
4. Varahagiri Venkata GiriMay 3rd, 1969July 20th, 1969He was acting President because of Hussain’s death.
5. Mohammad HidayatullahJuly 20th, 1969August 24th, 1969He was acting President till Giri’s presidency.
6. Varahagiri Venkata GiriAugust 24th, 1969August 24th, 1974He was the 4th President of India.
7. Fakhruddin Ali AhmedAugust 24th, 1974February 11th, 1977He was the 5th President of India.
8. Basappa Danappa JattiFebruary 11th, 1977July 25th, 1977He was a chief minister of the Mysore but got elected as President, After the death of Ahmed.
9. Neelam Sanjiva ReddyJuly 25th, 1977July 25th, 1982Reddy was the 6th President of India unopposed.
10. Giani Zail SinghJuly 25th, 1982July 25th, 1987He was the 7th President of India and was also a member of the Congress party.
11. Ramaswamy VenkataramanJuly 25th, 1987July 25th, 1992He was the 8th President of India. He was also a lawyer and a professional politician.
12. Shankar Dayal SharmaJuly 25th, 1992July 25th, 1997He was the 9th President of India, and he was also a member of the National Congress party of India.
13. Kocheril Raman NarayananJuly 25th, 1997July 25th, 2002He was the 10th President of India and the best diplomat in India.
14. Dr. A.P.J. Abdul KalamJuly 25th, 2002July 25th, 2007He was the 11th President of India, and he was a great scientist. He worked in ISRO and DRDO organizations.
15. Pratibha PatilJuly 25th, 2007July 25th, 2012She was the 12th President of India, and she was the first woman to Be President.
16. Pranab MukherjeeJuly 25th, 2012July 25th, 2017He was the 13th President of India, and he was also a senior leader of the National Congress party.
17. Shri Ram Nath KovindJuly 25th, 2017WorkingHe is the 14th President of India, and he is also ex-governor Of Bihar.

Eligibility for the position of Indian President

A single transferable vote is used to elect the President using proportional representation. The procedure of impeachment can be used to remove the President.

President of India: The following is a list of the requirements for the position:

1. He should be an Indian citizen.

2. He must be at least 35 years old to be eligible for this position.

3. He must meet the requirements to be elected to the Lok Sabha.

4. He should not take any profit position under any official body, including the federal or state governments.

Facts about India’s Presidents

  • Before being elected to the presidency, seven presidents have been members of political parties.
  • At least six of them were Congress Party activists.
  • Only Dr. Rajendra Prasad (First President of India) has served two terms in office.
  • Ram Nath Kovind served as Governor of Bihar until being elected President of India in 2014.

FAQS: List of Presidents of India

Who chooses India’s President?

An Electoral College is used to elect the President.

How many years will the President be in office?

For five years, the President will preside.

Who is in charge of selecting the country’s President?

The Election Commission of India elects the President of India.

Who was India’s first President?

First president of India, Dr. Rajendra Prasad, served as a physician.

What is the name of India’s current President?

The President of India is Shri Ram Nath Kovind.

You Can Read Also:

UPSC Coaching in Delhi
List of State Birds
List of RBI Governors
List of Prime Ministers of India
List of State Animals