The Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) is the second-largest intergovernmental organization after the United Nations, uniting countries with significant Muslim populations. Here’s a quick overview of its key details: 

Full Name: Organization of Islamic Cooperation 

Established: 1969 (following the arson attack on Al-Aqsa Mosque in Jerusalem) 

Headquarters: Jeddah, Saudi Arabia 

Membership: 57 member states, with most being members of the UN (Palestine is the exception) 

Observer States: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Central African Republic, Thailand, Russia, and Northern Cyprus 


Preserves Islamic social and economic values 

Promotes solidarity amongst member states 

Increases cooperation in social, economic, cultural, scientific, and political areas 

Upholds international peace and security 

Advances education, particularly in science and technology 


Islamic Summit: The supreme authority of the OIC, consisting of Kings, Heads of State, and government representatives of member states. 

Council of Foreign Ministers: Meets regularly to discuss and decide on policies. 

General Secretariat: Oversees the day-to-day operations of the organization. ● Specialized Institutions: Focus on specific areas like health, education, and scientific cooperation.


Mediation and conflict resolution in Muslim-majority nations. ● Promoting human rights based on Islamic principles. 

Providing humanitarian assistance to Muslim communities in need. ● Advocating for the interests of the Muslim world on international issues. ● Promoting interfaith dialogue and understanding. 


Diverse membership: Balancing the interests and priorities of member states with varying political and economic systems can be complex. 

Internal conflicts: Addressing conflicts within the Muslim world can be challenging. 

Limited resources: Relies on voluntary contributions from member states, which can limit its capacity to implement programs. 

Perceptions of the OIC: Sometimes criticized for not being vocal enough on human rights issues in some member states. 

Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC): Strengthening Unity and Solidarity Among Muslim Nations 


The Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) stands as a beacon of unity and cooperation among Muslim-majority nations, striving to protect the rights and interests of the Islamic world. Established on 25 September 1969 in response to the arson attack against Al-Aqsa Mosque in Jerusalem, the OIC has since evolved into a multifaceted organization with 57 member countries and a mission to foster solidarity, address common challenges, and promote mutual understanding. 

Objective and Establishment 

The primary objective of the OIC is to strengthen cooperation and solidarity among its member states while safeguarding the rights and interests of the Islamic world. The organization was founded in the aftermath of the arson attack on Al-Aqsa Mosque, symbolizing a collective response to protect one of Islam’s holiest sites. Since its establishment, the OIC has played a pivotal role in advocating for the rights of Muslims worldwide and addressing key issues facing the Muslim community. 

Membership and Structure 

The OIC comprises 57 member countries, representing a diverse range of cultures, languages, and traditions within the Islamic world. Each member state is committed

to upholding the principles of the organization and working towards common goals of unity, solidarity, and progress. Additionally, the OIC has five observer countries, including the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Central African Republic, Russia, and Thailand, who participate in its activities as non-voting members. 

The organizational structure of the OIC includes various organs and committees, each tasked with specific functions to advance the organization’s objectives. These include the Islamic Summit, Council of Foreign Ministers, Standing Committees, Executive Committee, International Islamic Court of Justice, Independent Permanent Human Rights Commission, Committee of Permanent Representatives, General Secretariat, subsidiary organs, specialized organs, and affiliated institutions. Each of these entities plays a crucial role in coordinating efforts, formulating policies, and implementing initiatives to address the needs and concerns of member states. 

History and Evolution 

The OIC traces its origins to the First Islamic Summit Conference held in Rabat in 1969, where the decision to establish the organization was made in response to the arson attack on Al-Aqsa Mosque. Originally known as the Islamic Conference Organization (ICO), the organization underwent a name change to the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) in 2011, reflecting its expanded mandate and scope of activities. Over the years, the OIC has adapted to changing geopolitical dynamics and emerging challenges, reaffirming its commitment to promoting peace, stability, and development in the Islamic world. 

Key Functions and Activities 

The OIC undertakes a wide range of activities and initiatives to address the diverse needs of its member states and promote collaboration on various fronts. These include: 

Diplomatic Engagement: The OIC facilitates diplomatic dialogue and cooperation among member states to address regional and global issues of mutual concern. Through initiatives such as the Islamic Summit and Council of Foreign Ministers, member countries engage in constructive dialogue to promote peace, security, and development. 

Human Rights Advocacy: The OIC is committed to upholding human rights principles and protecting the rights of Muslims worldwide. It established the Independent Permanent Human Rights Commission to monitor human rights violations and promote dialogue on human rights issues within the Islamic world.

Economic Cooperation: Economic cooperation is a key focus area for the OIC, with initiatives such as the Standing Committee for Economic and Commercial Cooperation (COMCEC) aimed at enhancing trade, investment, and economic development among member states. The organization also promotes joint initiatives in areas such as agriculture, industry, and technology to foster economic growth and prosperity. 

Cultural Exchange: The OIC promotes cultural exchange and dialogue among member states to celebrate the rich diversity and heritage of the Islamic world. Initiatives such as the Islamic Summit and Standing Committee for Information and Cultural Affairs (COMIAC) facilitate cultural exchanges, festivals, and educational programs to promote understanding and appreciation among diverse communities. 

Türkiye’s Role and Contributions 

Türkiye has been a steadfast supporter and active participant in the activities of the OIC since its inception. As a founding member and host of various OIC institutions, Türkiye has played a prominent role in advancing the organization’s objectives and promoting solidarity among Muslim-majority nations. Türkiye has also taken on 

leadership roles within the OIC, including hosting summit meetings, chairing committees, and advocating for reforms to strengthen the organization’s effectiveness and relevance in the modern world. 


The Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) continues to serve as a vital platform for promoting unity, solidarity, and cooperation among Muslim-majority nations. Through its diverse range of activities and initiatives, the OIC remains committed to advancing the rights and interests of the Islamic world, fostering dialogue and understanding, and promoting peace, stability, and development across the globe. As member states continue to work together towards common goals, the OIC stands as a testament to the enduring spirit of unity and cooperation within the Islamic community.