Pakistan Prime Ministers: Since Pakistan gained independence on August 14, 1947, not a single Prime Minister has served his full five-year term. Liaquat Ali Khan served as Pakistan’s Prime Minister for the most extended period. We’ve compiled a comprehensive list of Pakistan’s Prime Ministers and their terms in office, so you can see who’s held the position the longest.

Liaquat Ali Khan

Pakistan Prime Ministers: On Jinnah’s advice, the first prime minister of Pakistan, Liaquat Ali Khan, was nominated by Governor-General Muhammad Ali Jinnah on August 14, 1947. In 1951, Khan was assassinated. Pakistan’s longest-serving Prime Minister, Liaquat Ali Khan, has been in office since 1988.

Sir Khawaja Nazimuddin

Liaquat Ali Khan, Pakistan’s first PM, was assassinated, and Sir Khawaja Nazimuddin was named his successor. After his government was disbanded in 1953 by then-Gov.-Gen. Malik Ghulam Muhammad resigned his position.

Mohammad Ali Bogra

As Pakistan’s third prime minister, Mohammad Ali Bogra was sworn into office. His ministry was dissolved by the Governor-General in 1955 after the legislative elections of 1954, after which he had established the Ministry of Talent.

Chaudhry Muhammad Ali

Pakistan’s fourth Prime Minister, Chaudhary Muhammad Ali, served under his leadership. His resignation in September 1956 was due to a rift within the coalition government, which forced him to withdraw from his position.

Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy

Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy, Pakistan’s fifth Prime Minister, stepped down after losing the support of his party and coalition allies.

Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar

His term as Prime Minister of Pakistan is the second shortest in Pakistan’s history. A vote of no confidence led by most of the opposition party’s voters removed him from office.

Sir Feroze Khan Noon

Noon was dismissed as Prime Minister of Pakistan after his party’s President Iskander Mirza imposed martial law in 1958 to extend his time of office.

Nurul Amin

The Prime Minister of Pakistan, Nurul Amin, has served the shortest time. Under the Yahya administration, he was given the position. Also, he was Pakistan’s first and only Vice President, serving from 1970 to 1972, and he led Pakistan during the Indo-Pakistan War of 1971.

Zulfikar Ali Bhutto

The country’s ninth Prime Minister assumed the PM role after resigning as President. After the re-promulgation of Pakistan’s Constitution, he was appointed as the country’s parliament’s speaker. In 1977, Bhutto authorized Army Chief General Zia to execute martial law in Pakistan, and the government drove him as a result.

Muhammad Khan Junejo

Muhammad Khan Juenjo became Pakistan’s ninth Prime Minister in 1985 after winning an election free of party affiliation. While in office, he worked for the Pakistan Muslim League. As a result of Constitutional Amendment No. 8, Junejo was forced to resign by the President of Pakistan.

Benazir Bhutto

Benazir Bhutto was Pakistan’s first female prime minister. She was sworn in as Pakistan’s eleventh Prime Minister.

Nawaz Sharif

In November 1990, Nawaz Sharif was chosen as Pakistan’s 12th prime minister. In April 1993, President Ghulam Ishaq disbanded his cabinet, but the Supreme Court of Pakistan eventually reinstated it. In July 1993, he resigned after a deal was struck to remove the President.

Benazir Bhutto

Benazir Bhutto was re-elected as the Pakistan Prime Minister in 1993. In 1995, she escaped an attempted coup. In November 1996, President Farooq Leghari dissolved her government.

Nawaz Sharif

Nawaz Sharif became Pakistan’s Prime Minister in February 1997 after winning a landslide vote across the country. In October 1999, General Pervez Musharraf implemented Martial Law and deposed him from power.

Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali

In November 2002, Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali was elected as Pakistan’s sixteenth prime minister. General Pervez Musharraf’s foreign and economic initiatives were carried out, although he resigned in June 2004.

Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain

Only 50 days later, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain was sworn in as Prime Minister.

Shaukat Aziz

Shaukat Aziz became Pakistan’s Prime Minister in August 2004 and served until the end of the country’s current legislative term in 2007. He was the first Prime Minister to step down at the end of a legislative period.

Yousef Raza Gillani

In March 2008, Yousaf Raza Gillani was elected Prime Minister. As a result of his contempt of court behavior, the Supreme Court ruled him ineligible in April 2012.

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf

Raja Pervaiz Ashraf became Pakistan’s nineteenth Prime Minister when Yousaf Raza Gillani was removed from office for contempt of court.

Nawaz Sharif

Most Pakistanis elected Nawaz Sharif to a third non-consecutive term as prime minister. The Supreme Court of Pakistan ousted him because of the Panama Papers Case.

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi was elected as Pakistan’s twenty-first prime minister following the impeachment of Nawaz Sharif. On May 31, 2018, the National Assembly was dissolved, and a caretaker administration was put in place until the country’s national elections.

Imran Khan

Imran Khan, was elected as Pakistan’s new Prime Minister by his party and a coalition of other parties following the country’s 2018 general elections. After losing the no-trust vote, he was forced to resign. No Pakistani prime minister has ever faced a vote of no confidence in the National Assembly.

Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif : Pakistan Prime Ministers

Pakistan Prime Ministers: After a no-confidence vote successfully ousted Imran Khan as Pakistan’s Prime Minister, Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif took over as the country’s 23rd Prime Minister.

NameTook officeLeft officePolitical party (Alliance)
Liaquat Ali Khan14 August 194716 October 1951Muslim League
Sir Khawaja Nazimuddin17 October 195117 April 1953Muslim League
Mohammad Ali Bogra17 April 195312 August 1955Muslim League
Chaudhry Mohammad Ali12 August 195512 September 1956Muslim League
Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy12 September 195617 October 1957Awami League
Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar17 October 195716 December 1957Muslim League
Sir Feroze Khan Noon16 December 19577 October 1958Republican Party
Nurul Amin7 December 197120 December 1971Pakistan Muslim League
Zulfikar Ali Bhutto14 August 19735 July 1977Pakistan Peoples Party
Muhammad Khan Junejo24 March 198529 May 1988Independent
Benazir Bhutto2 December 19886 August 1990Pakistan Peoples Party
Nawaz Sharif6 November 199018 July 1993Pakistan Muslim League (N)
Benazir Bhutto19 October 19935 November 1996Pakistan Peoples Party
Nawaz Sharif17 February 199712 October 1999Pakistan Muslim League (N)
Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali23 November 200226 June 2004Pakistan Muslim League (Q)
Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain30 June 200426 August 2004Pakistan Muslim League (Q)
Shaukat Aziz28 August 200415 November 2007Pakistan Muslim League (Q)
Yousaf Raza Gillani25 March 200819 June 2012Pakistan Peoples Party
Raja Pervaiz Ashraf22 June 201224 March 2013Pakistan Peoples Party
Nawaz Sharif5 June 201328 July 2017Pakistan Muslim League (N)
Shahid Khaqan Abbasi1 August 201731 May 2018Pakistan Muslim League (N)
Imran Khan18 August 201810 April 2022Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf
Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif11 April 2022IncumbentPakistan Muslim League (N)

General Knowledge Articles to Read

List of State FlowersSatta Game
UPSC Exam PatternIAS
List of Prime Ministers of IndiaList of State Birds Indian Constitution
IPS Full FormInches to cm converter
 IAS FULL FORM Teachers Day